Nha Trang Stone Church

Nha Trang Stone Church located at an altitude of 12 meter in the city center, this is an attractive destination to many visitors, especially both local and foreign cinematographers and photographers. The official name of the church is The Cathedral of Christ the King, but local people often referred to as simply as either the Stone Church, Nha Trang Church, or Nga Sau Church. But the most popular local name is Núi Church. The Stone Church is an unique architecture with French style.

History of the Stone Church

With the ideology of propagating the sublime lifestyle of the Catholic in Nha Trang, clergy Louis Vallet (1869 – 1945) had spent his devotion to build the church.

On September 3rd, 1928, they started the construction on a small mountain named Bông Church. This is one of the reasons why the locals call it Núi Church. To raze everything on top of the mountain to the ground, people had to use up to 500 kgs of landmines.

The church was built entirely in the style of Western Catholic Church. This architecture is similar to that of churches in Sa Pa, Đà Lạt and some other places in Vietnam. A steeple with three bells in the middle is the typical style of the Western Catholic Church.

The Stone Church is the beautiful space for photography and filming activities. Couples also choose this place to take wedding photos. The church is open every day from 8am, and still maintains sermons in the morning and afternoon.

After clergy Louis Vallet death (24th October 1945), his tomb was set in the Bông’s foothills, next to the road to the church.

How to go to the Stone Church

Click edit button to change this text.

Tips for traveling to the Stone Church

Click edit button to change this text.

Stone Church